I always wanted to be a soldier


 
This was taken in 2005, with myself (Fisherman hat dude) and my Cousin Paul (Red shirt dude) along side with our soldier friend and Mr. sleeping soldier. My cousin’s father invited us to come in some sort of a military exercise just outside the road to Maria Cristina Falls, Iligan. My Cousin’s father is a reserve Major and also worked in the Maria Cristina Power plant in Mindanao.

We listen and learn on how life of a Philippine soldier is, how minimum their wages are, how they part with their families in order to do their duty as a soldier, one of them told us “a life of soldier is just big adventure.” and also told us stories.

When I was little kid I always dreamed about being a soldier that’s when I shifted dreaming about being a Pirate and a spaceman xD. I remember my aunt asked me why do I want to be a soldier? one thing that always pop in my mind is “protecting our own” I really don’t know where I get that, but I grew up with it.

I’ve been away from home for almost 6 years now, I remember whenever we visit other towns and cities, there are always check points, there always marines posted everywhere, and you always see armored cars and choppers passing by, we sometimes waved at them hoping they wave back, that was actually fun times,

now we hear the news about the Progress in Mindanao, we hope this peace and progress will last forever, no! we want this to last forever.

I really miss home.

Leave a Reply

